Skip to main content
DistrictCampus
CAMPUS

Cherish Center

Laura Salinas

Laura Salinas

Coordinator

(956) 473-1772

lsalinas@uisd.net

 

8800 McPherson Rd. Laredo, Texas 78045

The United Independent School District Cherish Center is a renovated 21,000 square–foot facility serving special needs students from the District’s four high schools.  The Center offers two specialized programs.  One is designed to help our students with life after graduation through an alternative vocational/career curriculum.  This includes hands–on training in the following areas:

• Business Media

• Commercial Food Service

• Hotel Hospitality

• Horticulture

• Retail Merchandising

A separate program for severely disabled students will offer them an alternative to homebound services or placement far away from home.  The specialized units include:

• MLC (Motivational Learning Center)

• SLC (Structural Learning Center)

• Medical Fragile

The Center will advance the goal of the District’s Special Education Program to provide education and training to all special needs students so that they have the opportunity to live more independent, successful and fulfilling lives.

Staff

 
Name Position Email Phone
Lucy Gutierrez Lead Teacher lgutierrez@uisd.net (956) 473-1778
Blanca C. Almaraz Teacher, Retail Merchandise balmar47@uisd.net (956) 473-1787
Maria C. Arriaga Teacher Aide, Retail Merchandise marri49@uisd.net  
Sanjuanita M. Avalos Teacher, Business Media sjavalos@uisd.net (956) 473-1779
Geraldine E. Botello Teacher, Hotel Hospitality gbotello@uisd.net (956) 473-1773
Abraham R. De la Garza Teacher, Horticulture adelag14@uisd.net (956) 473-1780
Carlos Carranco Teacher, Culinary Arts carlos.carranco@uisd.net (956) 473-1782
Edwina Garcia Teacher Aide, Business Media egarc62@uisd.net  
Monica N. Gonzalez Teacher, SLC mgonza53@uisd.net (956) 473-1784
Steve Gonzales Teacher Aide, SLC sgonzalez4@uisd.net  
Cynthia Guevara Teacher Aide, Hotel Hospitality cguevara1@uisd.net  
Iris Y. Martinez Teacher Aide, SLC imarti30@uisd.net  
Jesus Diaz Teacher, Medical Fragile jdiaz68@uisd.net (956) 473-1781
Maria G. Salas Teacher Aide msalas27@uisd.net  
Martin Santa Cruz Teacher Aide, Horticulture msant18@uisd.net  
Diana Barrios Office Clerk dbarrios@uisd.net (956) 473-1770
Angie Garza, R.N. Nurse angelag@uisd.net (956) 473-1775
Diana Del Angel Teacher Aide dcdelangel@uisd.net  

Cherish Center Navigation

Special Education Resources

Special Education Forms And Documents

Special Education Links